History of the Rocky Mountain Internal Medicine Conference

Dr. Robert J. Herman

The Annual Rocky Mountain/ACP Internal Medicine Conference was founded in 1995. Dr. Robert J. Herman chaired the conference from 2000-2018.

Dr. Herman is currently a Professor in the Division of General Internal Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of Calgary. He is the current chair of the Health Canada Scientific Advisory Committee on Pharmaceutical Sciences and Clinical Pharmacology. He has received numerous awards recognizing these contributions. Interests include clinical pharmacology, drug metabolism and disposition, bioequivalence, drug interactions, formulary review, hypertension, heart failure, diabetes, hyperlipidemia, weight management and smoking cessation. Current research is focused in the areas of hypertensive emergencies and its effects on the microcirculation. You may have seen him on the Foothills hospital wards and clinics with his OCT machine.

Dr. Herman is an avid hiker, snowboarder and still plays old-timers hockey, twice weekly through the winter and weekly in the summer. However, his true passion is caring for sick patients with complex medical problems and teaching as he attends on GIM medical services.



First Annual Western Internal Medicine Update

Moved to the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

  • Moved to the Banff Park Lodge

  • Dr. Herman became Conference Chair




Transitioned to new

conference Co-Chairs, Dr. Rahim Kachra & Dr. Lee-Ann Hawkins




Cancelled due to loss of sponsor

  • Moved to the Buffalo Mountain Lodge

  • Started using the Rocky Mountain name

  • Multiple sponsors

  • Plenary style

  • AM Edwards Lectureship

  • First Rocky Mountain meeting partnered with CSIM

  • Over 300 registrants


  • New logo and imaging

  • Introduced the Annual
    Dr. Robert J. Herman Plenary Session

  • Partnered with EBM

  • Created a website

  • Recorded presentations

  • Created RM report


Joint RM/CSIM Meeting in Vancouver


In 2019, the Rocky Mountain Internal Medicine Conference transitioned to new conference chairs,

Dr. Rahim Kachra and Dr. Lee-Ann Hawkins.


They were thrilled to announce the Annual Dr. Robert J. Herman Plenary Session at Rocky Mountain Internal Medicine 2019! Dr. Robert J. Herman was the first presenter. You can view a copy of his presentation here.

For more information on the Rocky Mountain Internal Medicine Co-Chairs, please click here.

We hope to see you in 2020!

Dr. Rahim Kachra, Dr. Robert J. Herman, and

Dr. Lee-Ann Hawkins at RMIM19